Patterson Companies acquired by Patient Square Capital: fairness opinion by Guggenheim Securities
Deal terms
Opinion of Guggenheim Securities to the target board
Discounted cash flow assumptions
Discounted cash flow analyses performed based on the Patterson-Provided Financial Projections; numerical outputs not disclosed in the sliced sections.
Other analyses
| Analysis | Summary | Implied per share |
|---|---|---|
| Selected Publicly Traded Companies Analysis | Compared Patterson's financial performance, certain trading multiples and trading activity of its common stock with corresponding data for publicly traded companies Guggenheim Securities deemed relevant; specific companies and multiples not disclosed in the sliced sections. | — |
| Selected Precedent Merger and Acquisition Transactions Analysis | Reviewed the valuation and financial metrics of certain precedent mergers and acquisitions deemed relevant in evaluating the Merger; specific transactions and multiples not disclosed in the sliced sections. | — |
| Historical Trading Analysis | Reviewed the historical prices, certain trading multiples and the trading activity of Patterson common stock. | — |
| Premiums Paid Analysis | Reviewed premiums paid in connection with certain public precedent merger and acquisition transactions deemed relevant in evaluating the Merger. | — |
| Illustrative Leveraged Buyout Analysis | Performed illustrative leveraged buyout analyses based on the Patterson-Provided Financial Projections, with certain adjustments relating to the contemplated financing of customer receivables as discussed with Patterson management. | — |
Management projections
| Projection year | Year 1 | Year 2 | Year 3 | Year 4 | CAGR |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $6.9B | $7.1B | $7.4B | $7.8B | 4.2% |
| Revenue growth | 2.7% | 3.4% | 4.6% | 4.7% | |
| EBITDA | $370M | $405M | $446M | $482M | 9.2% |
| EBITDA growth | 7.9% | 9.5% | 10.1% | 8.1% | |
| EBITDA margin | 5% | 6% | 6% | 6% | |
| Implied EV / EBITDA | 11.1x | 10.1x | 9.2x | 8.5x |
Year-1 growth is against LTM at announcement ($6.7B revenue, $343M EBITDA); later years are year over year.
Management prepared two sets of standalone, unaudited projections for fiscal years 2025E-2029E: the June 2024 Long-Range Plan update (revenue $6,832M in FY2025E rising to $8,181M in FY2029E; EBITDA $367M to $529M; adjusted EPS $2.43 to $3.87) and the Updated Long-Range Plan approved December 6, 2024 (revenue $6,674M to $7,757M; EBITDA $343M to $482M; adjusted EPS $2.28 to $3.49), which reflected sector-specific challenges and first-half results. At the Board's direction, Guggenheim Securities relied on the December 2024 projections for its fairness opinion and related analyses. The December case assumed FY2025E-FY2029E CAGRs of approximately 3.6% in dental and 3.9% in animal health (versus 4.7% and 4.6% in the June case).
Process notes
Other Distribution and Equipment Services fairness opinions
- Agiliti / Thomas H. Lee Partners 2024 · 9.4x EV/EBITDA
- Quipt Home Medical / Kingswood Capital Management / Forager Capital Management 2025 · 4.7x EV/EBITDA
- Covetrus / Clayton, Dubilier & Rice 2022 · 14.0x EV/EBITDA
- Apria / Owens & Minor 2022 · 12.0x EV/EBITDA
- Universal Hospital Services / Federal Street Acquisition 2018 · 11.9x EV/EBITDA
- PSS World Medical / McKesson 2012 · 10.6x EV/EBITDA
All Distribution and Equipment Services opinions → · Guggenheim Securities opinions