Fairness opinionsOutsourced Services2020

BioTelemetry acquired by Philips: fairness opinion by Raymond James

Announced December 18, 2020 · Tender offer · All cash · SC 14D9 filed December 23, 2020
Outsourced Services Remote Patient Monitoring
Enterprise value
$2.8B
EV / LTM EBITDA
23.7x
EBITDA $118M · 26% margin
EV / LTM revenue
6.26x
revenue $447M
DCF discount rate
10.0%–12.0%
Perpetuity growth

Deal terms

ConsiderationAll cash
Price per share$72.00
Premium13.8%
Premium basisclosing price of $63.27 on December 15/16, 2020 (1-day); Philips cited 21% premium over December 11, 2020 close and 51% over 60-day VWAP
StructureTender offer
Termination fee$75.0M (2.9% of equity)
Reverse termination fee
Go-shopNone
Outside date

Implied value per share by method vs. $72.00 offer

Selected companies — EV / CY2020E EBITDA (Industry Reference Companies) $47.71 – $77.46
Selected companies — EV / CY2021E EBITDA (Industry Reference Companies) $48.86 – $85.38
Selected companies — EV / CY2020E EBITDA (Financial Profile Reference Companies) $56.51 – $80.41
Selected companies — EV / CY2021E EBITDA (Financial Profile Reference Companies) $55.44 – $85.24
Precedent transactions — EV / LTM EBITDA (Industry Reference Transactions) $45.36 – $74.94
Precedent transactions — EV / LTM EBITDA (Financial Profile Reference Transactions) $38.09 – $70.26
Discounted cash flow $41.01 – $72.33
Trading Analysis $61.28 – $63.27

Ranges as disclosed in the banker’s summary of analyses; the red line marks the per-share consideration.

Opinion of Raymond James to the target board

Delivered December 18, 2020

Discounted cash flow assumptions

Discount rate10.0%–12.0%
Basisweighted average after-tax cost of debt and equity capital associated with executing BioTelemetry's business plan
Terminal valuePerpetuity growth
Perpetuity growth3.0%–5.0%
Exit multiple
Projection period2020E-2025E
Projections usedthe Projections (BioTelemetry management)
Implied value per share$41.01–$72.33

Unlevered free cash flows defined as cash flows from operations less capital expenditures plus interest expense; standalone basis

Selected public companies (17)

Boston Scientific Corporation · ResMed Inc. · Teladoc Health, Inc. · Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings · Quest Diagnostics Incorporated · Masimo Corporation · PRA Health Sciences, Inc. · Syneos Health, Inc. · Hill-Rom Holdings, Inc. · iRhythm Technologies, Inc. · Medpace Holdings, Inc. · AtriCure, Inc. · Globus Medical, Inc. · Integra LifeSciences Holdings Corporation · CONMED Corporation · NuVasive, Inc. · LeMaitre Vascular, Inc.

MultiplePeer lowPeer medianPeer highRange appliedImplied per share
EV / CY2020E EBITDA (Industry Reference Companies)15.7x18.4x25.1x 15.7x–25.1x $47.71–$77.46
EV / CY2021E EBITDA (Industry Reference Companies)12.9x15.1x22.2x 12.9x–22.2x $48.86–$85.38
EV / CY2020E EBITDA (Financial Profile Reference Companies)18.5x22.6x26.0x 18.5x–26.0x $56.51–$80.41
EV / CY2021E EBITDA (Financial Profile Reference Companies)14.5x19.2x22.1x 14.5x–22.1x $55.44–$85.24

Selected precedent transactions (22)

DateTargetAcquirerMultiple
2020-10Livongo Health, Inc.Teladoc Health, Inc.
2019-10Medidata Solutions, Inc.Dassault Systemes Americas Corp.
2019-04CAS Medical Systems, Inc.Edwards Lifesciences Corporation
2019-02athenahealth, Inc.Veritas Capital Fund Management, L.L.C.
2019-02Technology business of MModal IP LLC3M Company
2018-11MatrixCare, Inc.ResMed Inc.
2018-10Envision Healthcare CorporationKKR & Co. Inc.
2018-05Advance Medical Health Care Management S.A.Teladoc Health, Inc.
2017-09PAREXELPamplona Capital Management LLP
2017-08Chiltern International LimitedCovance Inc.
2017-08inVentiv HealthINC Research Holdings
2017-07Best Doctors, Inc.Teladoc Health, Inc.
2017-06LifeWatch AGBioTelemetry
2017-01St. Jude Medical, Inc.Abbott Laboratories
2020-11Wright Medical Group N.V.Stryker Corporation
2019-10Acelity, Inc.3M Company
2019-02DJO Global, Inc.Colfax Corporation
2018-02Exactech, Inc.TPG Capital, L.P.
2018-01Argon Medical Devices Holdings, Inc.Weigao International Medical
2017-10J&J's Codman Neurosurgery BusinessIntegra LifeSciences Holdings
2017-04BSN Medical Luxembourg Group HoldingSvenska Cellulosa Aktiebolaget
2017-03Cynosure, Inc.Hologic, Inc.
MultipleLowMedianHighRange appliedImplied per share
EV / LTM EBITDA (Industry Reference Transactions)14.5x17.1x23.6x 14.5x–23.6x $45.36–$74.94
EV / LTM EBITDA (Financial Profile Reference Transactions)12.3x14.4x22.2x 12.3x–22.2x $38.09–$70.26

Other analyses

AnalysisSummaryImplied per share
Transaction Premium Analysis64 M&A transactions closed since January 1, 2018 with target market cap $1.0-$5.0 billion, 100% acquired, US/Canada targets. Mean premiums 27.8% (1-day), 27.5% (1-week), 31.7% (1-month); medians 19.2%/20.3%/26.9%; min 5.6%/7.7%/3.0%; max 73.6%/77.0%/90.4%. Implied transaction premiums were 13.8% (1-day), 21.1% (1-week), 49.1% (1-month). Solely for informational purposes.
Trading AnalysisCompared $72.00 consideration to historical closing prices: December 16, 2020 close of $61.28 (17.5% premium) and 52-week high of $63.27 on December 15, 2020 (13.8% premium). Solely for informational purposes.$61.28–$63.27

Filing section notes Raymond James had not been engaged by or received compensation from BioTelemetry in the preceding two years other than amounts under its engagement letter; served as financial advisor to a Philips subsidiary in the March 2019 sale of Photonics GmbH to TRUMPF Group for a fee of approximately $1.5 million.

3,000+ healthcare deal-level valuation multiples
The Valuation database includes financial details for more than 3,000 healthcare M&A transactions, private and public, with deal-level multiples, categorized by segment, type, and year.
See the Valuation database →

Management projections

Projection yearYear 1Year 2Year 3Year 4Year 5CAGR
Revenue$528M$598M$682M$786M$917M14.8%
Revenue growth18.0%13.3%14.0%15.2%16.6%
EBITDA$147M$181M$214M$254M$303M19.9%
EBITDA growth24.6%23.1%18.5%18.3%19.6%
EBITDA margin28%30%31%32%33%
Implied EV / EBITDA19.0x15.5x13.1x11.0x9.2x

Year-1 growth is against LTM at announcement ($447M revenue, $118M EBITDA); later years are year over year.

Raymond James relied on management's Projections covering calendar years 2020 through 2025 for its discounted cash flow analysis, using unlevered free cash flow (cash flow from operations less capex plus interest expense) with calendar 2025 as the terminal year. Selected company multiples were applied to BioTelemetry's projected CY2020E and CY2021E adjusted EBITDA (adjusted to add back stock-based compensation, D&A and one-time charges); the $72.00 consideration implied 23.4x CY20E and 18.8x CY21E EBITDA and 22.7x LTM EBITDA. Specific revenue and EBITDA dollar figures were not disclosed in the sliced sections.

Process notes

Single fairness opinion delivered by Raymond James & Associates to the BioTelemetry Board (oral at the December 17-18, 2020 meeting, confirmed in writing December 18, 2020); opinion based on conditions as of December 16, 2020. Transaction structured as a tender offer followed by a back-end merger after Philips agreed to drop CFIUS approval as a closing condition. Philips delivered a Guarantee of Parent's and Purchaser's obligations. Termination fee negotiated down from Philips' proposed 3.0% of implied equity value to $75 million (approximately 2.9%); merger agreement includes a $25 million Divestiture Cap on required regulatory divestitures. Raymond James was authorized to solicit only a limited number of parties and did not advise on strategic alternatives. Raymond James previously advised a Philips subsidiary on the 2019 sale of Photonics GmbH for a ~$1.5 million fee. Advisory fee amounts were not disclosed in the provided sections.

Other Outsourced Services fairness opinions

All Outsourced Services opinions → · Raymond James opinions